The British Government in Australia

British Government offices in Australia

British High Commission

The British High Commission in Canberra and its Consulates in other capitals are responsible for promoting Britain's political, defence, social and business interests in the region, and in providing consular assistance to distressed British nationals. Additionally, Civil Partnership registrations for same-sex couples can be undertaken in Canberra, Sydney and Melbourne.

Note: British passports are no longer issued in Australia. Applications should now be made to the UK's Regional Passport Processing Centre in Wellington, New Zealand - although applications can be made at Australia Posts branches - and UK visas for both New Zealand and Australia are currently issued from Canberra.

British Consulates

British Consulates in Australia are satellite 'Posts' of the British High Commission in Canberra, and there are offices in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth.

The Consulates are engaged in promoting British business to Australia and Australian investment into the UK. They also assist distressed British nationals (stolen or lost Passports , accident / death, arrested, etc) and conduct Civil Partnership registrations for same-sex couples in Sydney and Melbourne.

Honorary Consuls

In addition to its official premises, there are Honorary Consuls in Adelaide in South Australia, Alice Springs and Darwin in the Northern Territory, Cairns in Queensland, and Hobart in Tasmania.

British Council Australia

Britain's cultural relations agency, the British Council offers a number of professional development opportunities and scholarships to outstanding Australians working across the arts, creative industries, social activism, science and climate change - e.g. UK Post Graduate Degrees in state of the art university facilities.


Formerly known as the British Tourist Authority, VisitBritain is the UK's tourism agency and now operates an online one-stop-shop for planning your UK holiday.